Home                Rusty papers                A life of moons                Atmospheres                Flexible geometries                Elusive               
Interview of Martine Le Normand                Expositions                Publication                Criticism                Of rust and colours                Contact                                               
Martine Le Normand - Artiste Peintre
Of rust and colours



A self-taught artist, Martine Le Normand is especially fond of inventing her own techniques. You will find no oxidisable metal in her rusted cardboards and papers. To « imprint » her materials she makes do with such elements as water, steel and the varying temperature of seasons. These make the genesis of the works she creates in the Burgundy countryside where she lives.

Then she must both submit to the rust inlaid in the weft and defeat it ; she must invent a grain as existent to the eye ; she must find the right balance between submission and improvisation ; she must come up against the living fragments of a strange and forever winding geometry and play along with her inspiration and intuitions.

Which makes her work noteworthy indeed : it can move from complete abstraction to seemingly more figurative shapes, sometimes verging on the impressionism that reveals her love of Japan.

Martine Le Normand uses pencils, charcoals, oil pastels, water colour pastels, acrylic paint. Anything that will take her to the world of strong hues and subtle shadings that make her universe come alive.

Julia Evans

Accueil                Papiers rouillés                Une vie de lunes                En atmosphère                Géométries variables                Subversions               
Interview de Martine Le Normand                Publication                Critique                De rouille et de couleurs                Contact                                               
Martine Le Normand - Artiste Peintre
De rouille et de couleurs



Autodidacte, Martine Le Normand aime avant tout inventer ses techniques. Preuve en est de ses cartons et papiers rouillés : ces matériaux ne contiennent pas de métaux oxydables. Elle doit, pour « imprimer » ses supports, composer avec des éléments tels que l’eau, l’acier, et la température, variable selon les saisons. Premier temps des oeuvres qu’elle élabore dans la campagne bourguignonne où elle vit.

Dans un second temps, elle doit à la fois se soumettre aux incrustations de rouille dans la trame et les subvertir ; inventer une texture tout aussi présente à l’oeil ; trouver le juste équilibre entre contrainte et improvisation ; se confronter aux traces vivantes variant d’une improbable géométrie à d’innombrables sinuosités ; moduler selon son inspiration et ses intuitions.

En ce sens son travail est particulièrement singulier : il peut aller d’une abstraction totale à des formes qui paraissent plus figuratives, en passant par des créations proches de l’impressionnisme dans lesquelles repérer son amour pour le Japon.

Martine Le Normand utilise crayons, fusains, pastels gras, pastels aquarellables, peinture acrylique. Tout ce qui peut lui permettre d’explorer le monde des couleurs fortes et des dégradés subtils pour donner vie à son univers.

Julia Evans